Inital request for Regent Park information

The following communication started an interesting exchange about my experiences with community work in Regent Park. The Regent Park Community Improvement Association brought our family to Toronto with an offer to work with them on implementing the first tenant management initiative in Canada.  During our time in Springfield, Massachusetts, I’d organized public housing tenants around tenant participation in management.

From: Sean Purdy Sent: January 14, 2002 7:40 AM
To: simon@web.net
Subject: Regent Park
Hi Simon. I understand you were involved in community work in Regent Park in Toronto during the late 70s.

I’m a doctoral student in the Department of History at Queen’s University, writing a PhD thesis on the history of Regent Park. Much of my evidence is oral testimony. I’ve already done interviews with many former tenants, managers etc.
I’m writing to see if you would be interested in corresponding with me through email about Regent Park. Usually I try to speak to people in person, but, as it turns out, I’m living now in Sao Paulo, Brazil. I married a Brazilian and we live here. I’m at the writing stage of my thesis so I don’t need to be in Kingston.
What I was thinking was sending you some questions and you can respond at your leisure on these questions and/or anything else you want.
I would appreciate any help you can give me. If you know anybody else who would be interested in talking to me, please forward my email.
Sincerely, Sean Purdy

I’m writing to see if you would be interested in corresponding with me through email about Regent Park. Usually I try to speak to people in person, but, as it turns out, I’m living now in Sao Paulo, Brazil. I married a Brazilian and we live here. I’m at the writing stage of my thesis so I don’t need to be in Kingston.

What I was thinking was sending you some questions and you can respond at your leisure on these questions and/or anything else you want.
I would appreciate any help you can give me. If you know anybody else who would be interested in talking to me, please forward my email.
Sincerely, Sean Purdy

About mielniczuk

Community, systems, design, collaboration, change, evidence, Intelligent Accountability(c)
This entry was posted in Organizer's Notebook, Regent Park. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

